on belief

I said to the LORD, “I don’t believe in you.”
“That’s a shame.” God said, “I made you dinner. Are you hungry?”
“No.” I said, as I ate His good bread and drank red wine.

“I don’t believe in you.” I said.
“That’s a shame.” God said, “Come play with me.”
“I’m happy in the mud.” I said, slapping dirty water to prove it.
“No you’re not.” He said, “I have trees to climb and rivers to chase and oceans to walk on.”
“Oh alright.” I said and dove in.
“Come up here.” He said, sitting cross-legged on the waves.
“That’s impossible.” I said, spitting out salt water.
“Suit yourself.” He said and bobbed up and down as another wave rolled beneath him.

“I don’t believe in you.” I said.
“That’s a shame.” God said, “I drew you a bath.”
“I’m not dirty.” I said.
“Yes you are.” He said, “Your face and hands are black and smudgy.”
“I like them that way.” I said.
“No you don’t.”
“I suppose you’re right. Why is the water red?” I asked.
“Don’t worry about it.” He answered, “It will clean you better than clear water.”
I leaned back until my head went under, and when I sat up I was clean. He handed me a towel.
“I don’t believe in you.” I said, drying my face.
“That’s a shame.” God said, “I have a job for you.”
“I already have a job.” I said.
“No you don’t.” He said.
“You’re right.” I said. “But I can’t work for someone I can’t see.”
“Why not?” He asked. “People do it all the time.”
“I suppose you’re right.” I said. “What would you have me do?”
“Follow me.”
“How can I follow someone I can’t see?” I asked.
“Follow the crowd.” He said, and pointed to them.
“They look lost.” I said.
“I know. I want you to lead them.”
“But I don’t believe in you.” I said.
“You ate my body and played in my world I made for you, and I washed you in my blood. What do you think believing is?” He asked.
“I don’t know.” I said. Then I turned and yelled, “C’mon!” to the wandering crowd, and we followed Him together.

~ by ifindthisamusing on July 7, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
