Sisters

“I’m going to lie down. This heat is unbearable.” Mother stands regally and carries her impressive weight out of the salon with far more grace than seems likely. Her little negro girl follows.
“Alright she’s gone. Talk!” Olivia flips her red curls over her shoulder, and leans toward me, chin resting in her hands. I prolong the suspense sipping a mint julep and feigning boredom.
“He was horribly dull. I already told you.”
“Details!” Olivia demands.
“Oh alright,” I cave, grinning, “He was short and fat with a ghastly little mustachio. Seemed quite taken with me.” I wink.
“Wicked.” Olivia beams.

~ by ifindthisamusing on July 18, 2008.

One Response to “Sisters”

  1. I like you so much, and all the things you’re writing. :).

Leave a Reply

 
