The Suitor

“Would you like to take a turn about the garden, madam?” He asked, offering his elbow. Olivia wasn’t entirely sure how to answer.
“I-I’m sorry, Sir.” She curtsied, covering her embarrassment. “I’m—I’m not out yet.” He smiled, unruffled and courteously hiding his amusement.
“Forgive me, Madam has misunderstood my intentions. It’s a lovely day. The breeze is quite refreshing, and the Gladiolus and Hydrangea are in full color (not likely to last even another week.) I only meant (with leave of your chaperone, of course,) to enable you to enjoy such a rare afternoon.” He bowed again. Olivia smiled.

~ by ifindthisamusing on August 19, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
