Part I

“I think I’m going to run away.” I said, and set down my glass.
“Where would you go?” He asked, as if escape were a viable possibility.  Two girls were looking at me from across the room.  Under the dim bar lights and cigarette haze, they seemed to give off their own glow, one full and sensual like dark chocolate, eyes like liquid gold, the other striking and angular with startlingly red hair.  They were holding hands.  At the table next to them a man and woman were deep in conversation, their foreheads nearly touching.  In the opposite corner a beautiful woman sat alone with her wine glass.  Her long dark hair mostly hid her face.  She brushed her cheek with a hand.
“What’s the matter with Good?  Is she crying?” I motioned toward her.  My friend re-lit his pipe.  He ran a hand through his gray hair.  Looked exhausted.
“He left her again.”  Poor thing.  She took it like a champ, but this was becoming unpleasant.  “Worst thing is the sisters over there’ve been givin’er a hard time.”  Soul whispered something to the redhead and she laughed, green eyes flashing my direction again.
“Are they really sisters?” I asked.  I mean one was black and I was pretty sure Romance was Irish.  She had an accent, but it might’ve been faked.
“Ha! And I’m their father.”  His eyes crinkled and he exhaled vanilla smoke, shaking his head.
“Just a sec.” I said, picking up my glass and crossing the room.  I set it on Good’s table and sat down across from her.  She looked up and I saw the tears still on her face, but her eyes were clear and when she spoke here voice was steady.
“Where will you go when you run away?” She asked.

~ by ifindthisamusing on October 11, 2008.

2 Responses to “Part I”

  1. So what’s the rest of the story?

  2. i’ve always liked reading your words.

Leave a Reply

 
